Wunderlist

Name is required.
Email address is required.
Invalid email address
Answer is required.
Exceeding max length of 5KB

What happens to shared lists after a user quits? Can you change the owner of a list ?

Jan — Feb 20, 2019 11:52AM CET

We are working on Wunderlist with our Business Microsoft Accounts.

When any of us creates and shares a list it displays him as the owner.
Now, what happens if that user quits the service. Will his lists disappear? And so the team will lose the list they are using?

What happens if we deactivate his microsoft account ? Is the result the same, or will Wunderlist keep the list of an inactive microsoft account.

Can you preserve these lists or change the owner of a list?

Kind regards.
JS


3 Community Answers

Fangyuan - Feb 21, 2019 at 06:29AM CET

Wunderlist Support Center Support Staff

Hello Jan,

Thank you for reaching out to us.

When a user deletes his Wunderlist account, all the lists he owns will be removed from the server, and the list members will lose these lists too.

The Microsoft account doesn’t affect the Wunderlist account: they are independent. Even the Microsoft account is deactivated, the Wunderlist account registered under the email address still exists.

It’s not supported to change the list ownership, but it’s possible to move the tasks to a new list so someone else can own them: https://6wunderkinder.desk.com/customer/en/portal/articles/1639492-rearrange-or-move-to-do-to-another-list

Please let me know if you have more questions. Have a great day!

Regards,
Fangyuan

rated : 0 Up Down

Jan - Feb 21, 2019 at 12:43PM CET

So to be clear,

as I do not really know how it works. We were authorized into Wunderlist through online sign-in with our Microsoft business accounts (the ones with blue logo). We didn't go through any signup form with this e-mail, just started using the app while being logged in into our windows accounts. (we went through this page : https://www.wunderlist.com/signup?redirect_url=/webapp)

So if we disactivate or delete this user account in Windows service, his to-do lists and tasks will remain in the app as long as he additionally doesn't remove his account from Wuinderlist service. Is that correct?

Kind regards,
JS

rated : 0 Up Down

Fangyuan - Feb 21, 2019 at 12:48PM CET

Wunderlist Support Center Support Staff

Hello Jan,

Thank you for getting back to us.

Yes, this is correct: when you deactivate the Microsoft account, the Wunderlist account won’t be affected, unless the user deletes it.

Please let me know if you need more help!

Regards,
Fangyuan

rated : 0 Up Down

Post Your Public Answer